The university

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin was established by Wilhelm von Humboldt two hundred years ago. Back to 1810, Wilhelm von Humboldt’s vision was to introduce a new type of unity of research and teaching, to uphold the ideal of research without restrictions and to provide a comprehensive education for its students.

2020 marked the 210th anniversary of the Humboldt-Universität. During its history, the HU has undergone many profound changes. Following the founding of the German Empire in 1871, the alma mater became the most esteemed university in Germany, home to 29 Nobel Prize winners like Fritz Haber, Robert Koch or Max Planck. Prominent individuals such as Angela Davis, Lise Meitner, Otto von Bismarck, Christian Johann Heinrich Heine also studied here. The founding and rise of HU were inspired by the commitment to the pursuit of knowledge, continuing reforms, social responsibilities, equal opportunities for all. Every year over 5,000 young people decide to embark on their studies at HU in the heart of Berlin. There is hardly any other place where you can find the same variety: 185 degree courses, among which 21 international Master’s with lectures and seminars held in English.

The HU currently partners with over 170 scientific institutions on all continents. It defines itself as a university of reform in the name of excellence and has a full-time management board. The advocacy of young researchers, a system of quality control in research and teaching, and the continuous study reform make the HU one of the leading German universities with broad national and international recognition, as numerous university rankings show every year. Its mission is to promote young talents to influence the society positively.

Something which affects me personally more directly than anything else is the establishment of a new university here in Berlin.

– Wilhelm von Humboldt

Centre for British Studies

The Centre for British Studies is a teaching and research institution of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin covering multiple aspects of British society. The centre was established after the fall of the Berlin Wall and German reunification, to recognize the role of the UK in protecting West Berlin during the Cold War. It officially opened in June 1995, in the presence of the British Ambassador, Sir Nigel Broomfield and the governing Mayor of Berlin, Eberhard Diepgen. The centre views organizing public lectures and encouraging cultural exchange as part of responsibilities.

Its interdisciplinary research programme covers six branches: British history, politics, economics, law, literature, culture and the media. Students are supposed to choose three out of six as their study focuses. Besides, by offering connections with internships in the UK, holding cultural projects, this programme integrates practical work with theoretical research. Students are able to gain practical skills and work experience which equip them with international competence, either in academic world or in professional market. Guided by personal tutors, they can become good thinkers and highly-skilled specialists in their own fields.

The Centre hosts a broad range of individual research projects, postdoctoral studies, research colloquiums and the Berlin Graduate School for British Studies. Central to this is the Berlin-Britain Research Network which brings together researchers from the UK and from Germany. Therefore, the teaching staff assembles both highly-qualified professors and lecturers in HU, as well as guest lecturers, academics, practitioners from Britain who come from various disciplines bearing the duties of activating cultural communication in the European market.

Learn more about the Centre


Micaela Marques da Rocha, Hazal Haydar, Lâl Yolgeҫenli, Danae Tzioridi, Alina Mykytyshyn, Rafael Antunes Pereira, Yekaterina Zarifova, Jing Lin


Piroska Hadarics, Jasmin Haas


Piroska Hadarics, Pengling Li, Ilkyaz Yagmur Özköroğlu


Polina Fomenko, Mariana Macedo Marques, Alina Kuteeva, Anoushaey Saif, Bruno Nascimento Ferreira, Wan-Ting Yang, Gulirano Salieva


Helena Rohlfing, Constance Ulrich, Dilayda Tülübaş, Zhen Shi, Simona Pedrelli, Sofia Rimskaya, Ahsen Nur Balkan, Parvana Jalilli, Bürde Yılmaz, Anastasia Vrazhnova


Pavlo Nazar, Halil Suhacan Davut, Jiexi Li, Zih-Jhen Wu


Jasmin Haas, Hüseyin Yaşa, Anna Klishevich